Search Site
Menu
DWI/DWAI

Experienced DUI/DWI/DWAI Attorney Defends Drivers in Highland, NY

Aggressive defense of your liberty and license in the Hudson Valley

A drunk driving arrest or citation is serious business with possibly severe repercussions in many areas of your life. Whether this is your first DWI or DWAI arrest, or you’ve been convicted of drunk driving in the past, Peter M. Cordovano, P.C. works to get you the best result possible for your given circumstances. Drunk driving arrests have declined steadily in New York, from 52,877 drivers in 2011 to 44,501 in 2015. But that’s not because law enforcement is any less zealous. Studies show that more than 4,500 impaired driving crashes cause personal injury and death each year in the Empire State. This provides plenty of motivation for authorities to prosecute you to the fullest extent of the law. Your hopes for a favorable outcome may very well rest on the attorney you choose to represent you. I have more than 30 years of experience defending my clients’ rights in criminal and civil court, and I am prepared to fight for you.

New York DWI and DWAI law and penalties

There are two types of drunk driving charges in New York State:

  • DWI — Driving While Intoxicated is a charge for drivers whose blood alcohol content (BAC) exceeds the legal limit for their category: adult passenger vehicle drivers (.08 percent), commercial truck drivers (.04 percent), and drivers under the age of 21 (.02 percent).
  • DWAI — Driving While Ability Impaired does not require a driver to be legally drunk but simply to have consumed enough alcohol to be unable to drive safely. DWAI can also result from the use of legal or illegal drugs. The penalties for DWAI are specific to the type of substance that has impaired the driver.

Here are some examples of penalties for DWI/DWAI:

  • First DWAI-alcohol — A traffic infraction rather than a crime but still carries serious consequences of a $300 to $500 fine, up to 15 days in jail, and a 90-day suspension of your driver license.
  • Second DWAI violation in five years — Carries a fine ranging from $500 to $750, up to 30 days in jail, and a license revocation of at least six months.
  • Third or subsequent DWAI within 10 years — Misdemeanor crime, carrying a fine of $750 to $1,500, up to 180 days in jail, and a license revocation of at least six months.
  • First DWI or DWAI-drugs — Fine of $500 to $1,000, up to one year in jail, and loss of license for at least six months.
  • Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated (A-DWI) — Fine of $1,000 to $2,500, up to one year in jail, and loss of license for at least one year.
  • Second A-DWI in 10 years — Class E felony, with a fine ranging from $1,000 to $5,000, up to four years in prison, and a license revocation of at least 18 months.
  • Third A-DWI in 10 years — A Class D felony, with a fine ranging from $2,000 to $10,000, up to seven years in prison, and a license revocation of at least 18 months.

Because penalties for subsequent offenses are much harsher and are subject to a 10-year look-back period (the length of time offenses remain on a driver’s record), it is important to fight even a first offense and try to get the best outcome possible, to protect yourself now and into the future.

You can also lose your license for a full year if you refuse a chemical test after you’ve been arrested for DWI/DWAI, even if you are later cleared of the charge.

Get immediate help to fight your DWI/DWAI charge

In drunk driving cases, the police must have had legal cause to stop and search or test you in the first place, and that’s why it’s important to be represented by a criminal defense attorney who can find grounds to challenge these procedures. I can often challenge the evidence against a client based on the quality and accuracy of the equipment used, the observations and interpretations made by the arresting officer, or the effect that over-the-counter or prescription medications may have had on the test results. I thoroughly investigate your case to discover additional facts that can make other defenses available as well.

Contact a determined criminal defense attorney in Highland, NY for your DWI/DWAI arrest

If you’ve been arrested for DWI/DWAI in Ulster, Orange or Dutchess County, Peter M. Cordovano, P.C. can evaluate your DWI case and advise you of your options. Whether negotiating a plea bargain or defending you in court, I provide valuable advice and strong representation to get you the best result possible under the facts of your case. Call today at 845-834-8234 or contact my Highland office online to schedule a free consultation.

Contact us

Please fill out the form below and our attorney will contact you.

Quick Contact Form

Our Office
  • Highland Office
    1 North Roberts Road
    Highland, New York 12528
    Phone: 845-691-4200